The Downtown Smithfield Development Corporation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. We are a nationally accredited Main Street Community, and are associated with the North Carolina Main Street Center. 
The DSDC works to promote downtown as the place to live, work and shop. We offer support to business and property owners within our district through a variety of programs.
The majority of our organization’s funding is provided by a Municipal Service District (MSD), made up of 18 blocks in Downtown Smithfield. We also receive funding from the Town of Smithfield, as well as grant-making organizations, sponsors, and private donors.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Downtown Smithfield Development Corporation is to develop and maintain an economically vital, socially active and visually attractive downtown for Smithfield’s current and future citizens.

Vision Statement

Nestled between the serenity of the Neuse River and the vitality of Interstate 95, Downtown Smithfield is the center of government, enhanced by thriving, independently-owned businesses.  A destination for the arts, history, shopping, dining, entertainment, and recreation, Downtown Smithfield is the cultural center of the community.

Board of Directors

The DSDC is governed by a Board of Directors made up of 17 members.  Directors are drawn from the downtown community of property and business owners as well as from the community at large. In nominating board members, an effort is made to include every interest that can bring resource and knowledge to the table in service of the organization’s mission. Five board members are ex-officio members make up the board, including the Mayor of the Town of Smithfield, a Johnston County Commissioner, Director of the Ava Gardner Museum, Director of the Johnston County Heritage Center, and Director of the Public Library of Johnston County and Smithfield.  The following individuals currently serve as board members:
Chair Billie Stevens
Vice Chair Todd Johnson, Johnston County Heritage Center
Secretary Jan Branch
Treasurer Rick Childrey
Tara Dunn, Memory Lane Frame Studio
Jean-Pierre Edery, 231 Market Classic Printing
Marney Harris
Ruffin Johnson, Insurance Unlimited
Ross Lampe, Guy C. Lee Manufacturing
Julia Narron, Downtown Property Owner
Benton Sawrey, Narron, O'Hale, and Whittington
Patti Stallings, Bistro on Third
Ex-Officio Members
Andy Moore, Mayor of the Town of Smithfield
Cookie Pope, Johnston County Commissioner
Vacant, Director of the Ava Gardner Museum
Todd Johnson, Director of the Johnston County Heritage Center
Margaret Marshall, Director of the Public Library of Johnston County and Smithfield
From time to time, opportunities for board membership arise. Board members serve three-year staggered terms. If you are interested in board membership, please This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .


The DSDC is staffed by a full-time Director.
Sarah Edwards
Executive Director

Office Location

The office of the Downtown Smithfield Development Corporation is located in the historic Hastings House at 200 South Front Street beside the Town Commons Park and the Neuse River.
powered by contentmap
Go to top